Skip to main content

Functions - External Resource Mobilization Division (Multilateral)

  • We mobilize external funds from multilateral agencies to complement domestic resource mobilization to support Ghana’s growth and development agenda.
  • We coordinate Ghana’s economic and development cooperation with international finance organizations and bilateral countries,
  • Monitoring compliance with international/bilateral obligations and standards.
  • Processing of international/bilateral financial transactions in the form of Programmes and Projects.
  • Record and report on all Official Development Assistance to Ghana.

The Division consists of five (5) Units, which in themselves are a grouping of multilateral institutions that have similar processes and functions to facilitate the coordination of their portfolio. The five Units are:

  • AfDB, AU & ECOWAS Unit
  • ACP & EU Unit
  • United Nations Systems Unit, and
  • World Bank Unit

The ERM (Multilateral) Division engages with the following Multilateral Development Institutions who have an active portfolio in Ghana.

  1. African Development Bank (AfDB)

The African Development Bank is a regional multilateral development finance institution established in 1964 to mobilize resources for the funding of economic development and social projects and programmes of its Regional Member Countries (RMCs). It is headquartered in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire. Ghana is one of the founding members of the Bank having become a member in 1964. The Bank Group commenced its operational activities in Ghana in 1973 with the financing of the Nasia Rice Project.

  1. African Caribbean Pacific Group of States (ACP)

The African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP) is an organisation created by the Georgetown Agreement in 1975. It is composed of 79 African, Caribbean and Pacific states, with all of them, save Cuba, signatories to the Cotonou Agreement, also known as the "ACP-EC Partnership Agreement" which binds them to the European Union. There are 48 countries from Sub-Saharan Africa, 16 from the Caribbean and 15 from the Pacific.

  1. African Union (AU)

The AU is a continental union consisting of all 55 countries on the African continent, including the 6% of Egypt that is geographically in Asia. It was established on 26 May 2001 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, and launched on 9 July 2002 in South Africa, with the aim of replacing the Organization of African Unity (OAU).

  1. Arab Bank for Economic Development in Africa (BADEA)

The Arab Bank for Economic Development in Africa (BADEA) was established pursuant to the resolution of the 6th Arab Summit Conference at Algiers (28th November 1973). The Bank began operations in March 1975. The Bank was created for the purpose of strengthening economic, financial and technical cooperation between the Arab and African regions and for the embodiment of Arab-African solidarity on foundations of equality and friendship.

  1. European Union (EU)

The European Development Fund (EDF) is the main instrument for European Union (EU) aid for development cooperation in Africa, the Caribbean, and Pacific (ACP Group) countries and the Overseas Countries and Territories (OCT). Funding is provided by voluntary donations by EU member states.[1] The EDF is subject to its own financial rules and procedures, and is managed by the European Commission (EC) and the European Investment Bank.

  1. Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) was established on May 28 1975 via the treaty of Lagos, ECOWAS is a 15-member regional group with a mandate of promoting economic integration in all fields of activity of the constituting countries.

  1. ECOWAS Bank for Investment and Development (EBID)

EBID is the financial institution established by the 15 Member States of ECOWAS comprising Benin, Burkina Faso, Capo Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo. The Bank’s headquarters is in Lome, Togo. EBID aims at contributing to the economic development of West Africa through the financing of projects and programmes in particular, those related to transport, energy, telecommunications, industry, poverty alleviation, the environment and natural resources.

  1. International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD)

The International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD), a specialized agency of the United Nations, was established as an international financial institution in 1977 as one of the major outcomes of the 1974 World Food Conference. IFAD is dedicated to eradicating rural poverty in developing countries.

  1. OPEC Fund for International Development (OFID)

The OPEC Fund for International Development (OFID) is the development finance institution established by the Member States of OPEC in 1976 as a channel of aid to the developing countries. It does this by providing financing to build essential infrastructure, strengthen social services delivery and promote productivity, competitiveness and trade.

  1. Nordic Development Fund (NDF)

The Nordic Development Fund (NDF) is a multilateral development finance institution established by Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden in 1988. The objective of NDF's operations is to facilitate climate change investments primarily in low-income countries. NDF finances projects usually in cooperation with bilateral, multilateral and other development institutions. The operations mirror the Nordic countries’ priorities in the areas of climate change and development. NDF’s capital is provided from the development cooperation budgets of the five Nordic countries.

  1. United Nations Systems (UN)

The UN is an intergovernmental organization tasked to promote international co-operation and to create and maintain international order. The organization is financed by assessed and voluntary contributions from its member states. Its objectives include maintaining international peace and security, promoting human rights, fostering social and economic development, protecting the environment, and providing humanitarian aid in cases of famine, natural disaster, and armed conflict. The UN is the largest, most familiar, most internationally represented and most powerful intergovernmental organization in the world.

  1. World Bank (WB)

Established in 1944, the World Bank Group is headquartered in Washington, D.C. The WB provides low-interest loans, zero to low-interest credits, and grants to developing countries. These support a wide array of investments in such areas as education, health, public administration, infrastructure, financial and private sector development, agriculture, and environmental and natural resource management. The World Bank Group consists of the following five organizations; IBRD, IDA, IFC, MIGA and ICSID. Lending to Ghana is done under the IDA window.